Hell Camp by Niki Smart

ImageLinks to buy Hell Camp:
Shop on the Hell Camp website – http://hellcamp.weebly.com/shop.html
Kindle and paperback at Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00A3F1FGU
 
Book Trailer to view at:
 
Book Summary
“Hell Camp” is my story of growing up with a mother suffering from Borderline Personality Disorder. My mother crashed cars, had sex with the neighborhood, burned herself with cigarettes, threw fantastic tantrums and manipulated everyone and everything with stunning finesse (including the court system in an attempt to gain custody of my daughter).
Although this sounds like it could be a “woe is me” story, I tried to make it as funny as possible, and luckily, while my mother made a horrible parent, she makes a fascinating, and oft times, hilarious character in a book. Having endured her own traumatizing childhood, my mother was unable to recover and perpetuated the abuse she experienced onto her own children. That said; I grew up in a household rife with emotional, sexual and physical abuse. Throw in an alcoholic stepfather and a pedoImagephilic grandfather, and you get the idea of the chaos that reigned supreme in our rental home in Johannesburg – dubbed “Hell Camp” by my younger brother.
And all this craziness is told against the backdrop of South Africa during the end of the apartheid era – a time when the entire country was going crazy!
 
Reader Reviews:
“This is one of the most poignant, moving, and heartbreaking memoirs I have read, and believe me,
over the years I have read many. For those of you who loved Mary Karr’s the Liar’s Club, you will relish Niki Smart’s spell-binding Hell Camp. With Hell Camp, we have the arrival of a fresh, vibrant writer. I can’t wait to read her next book”…Daniel Lucks (Author of “Choosing Sides”)
 
“Just finished Hell Camp. It is really good. Seriously. Riveting! I laughed and I cried. This is the best “worst childhood ever” since Running with Scissors. Better/worse actually. It really does have it all including lots of conflict and drama. I see it as a movie”…Claire Fordham (author of “Plus One”)
 
“I absolutely loved your book. I finished it on Sunday, and picked it right back up and started reading it again. I love your sense of humor and your writing style. You have quite a story. I can relate to many of your experiences. I, too, have traveled down a long road to get to a healthier and happier place. And I too, am grateful to be alive and to be a survivor.”…Sue Salomon
2 thoughts on “Hell Camp by Niki Smart

Speak to the Author

